AWS and Azure are the two largest cloud providers in the industry. There are many cloud certifications showing up in the industry. Which ones should you get? We will go over the Top 8 certifications in the industry and let you decide which ones are right for you.

Our Top Eight Certifications

  1. CompTIA Cloud+
  2. Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect
  3. AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate
  4. Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate
  5. AWS Certified Developer – Associate
  6. Microsoft Certified: Microsoft Azure Fundamentals
  7. AWS Certified SysOps Administrator
  8. CCSP – Certified Cloud Security Professional

CompTIA Cloud+

I always recommend CompTIA as a stepping stone when entering a new technology. CompTIA prides itself on being vendor-neutral that will help any new comer the support and basic knowledge to enter a subject. Cloud+ is an idea exam for a candidate who is responsible for building and deploying computers systems, and those responsible for the connectivity of the systems. Cloud+ is not for the faint hearted. They recommend 2 to 3 years of knowledge but anyone would benefit if they have a basic knowledge of AWS, Azure, or Google Cloud.

Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect

Google has their hands in everything! The cloud is nothing different. GCP is a new certification program that came from 2019. It is one of the highest paying IT certifications and well sought for. GCP Cloud Architect is an ideal solution for enterprise architects, senior administrators, and seasoned operation team members. To prepare for the test you can take the Google training courses.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect

AWS Certified Solutions Architect is the most pursued and achieved cloud certification. It is still one of the most popular certification on LinkedIn Salary reports. On average someone who has this degree and the education to back it earns $130,000. The AWS Architect – Associate is ideal for enterprise architects, senior administrators, and developers. AWS offers their training for the certification free on their education website.

Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate

Although many employers still require the MCSA: Cloud Platform certification, Microsoft has given us a new lineup of IT certifications that align for jobs today. Those looking to update their resume and land that new career in Cloud computing should look at this one. The credential is ideal for Azure administrators who manage storage, security, networking, and cloud based servers. This certification validates the ability to manage an Azure infrastructure. To prepare this course is offered. NOT CHEAP! But if the employer is willing to send you its a great way to get certified.

AWS Certified Developer – Associate

This certification is the SECOND most pursued certification in the industry. This credential is needed in the top 18% of all high paying careers. An individual who has this certification understands AWS services and best practices, and is proficient in developing, deploying, and debugging cloud based applications. Having 1 to 2 years of experience in maintaining a web based application is recommended.

Microsoft Certified: Microsoft Azure Fundamentals

Microsoft fundamentals is the starting point for ALL Microsoft role-based certifications. So not only do you NEED this certification if you want to pursue a larger certification it will aid you in your search for a cloud-based salary. Fundamentals validate the basic understanding of core cloud concepts, Azure services, privacy and compliance, and everything a novice cloud professional needs to utilize Microsoft Azure. As always Microsoft has a class for this certification.

Microsoft Azure Fundamentals (AZ-900T01)

AWS Certified SysOps Administrator

SysOps will always have a special place in my heart. This certification has the 4th most demand. Achieving this certification validates technical expertise in the deployment, management, and operations of the AWS platform. For day-to-day operations, this certification is a must. This certification could be used by many different engineers looking to diversify their toolkit.

CCSP – Certified Cloud Security Professional

The CCSP like the CompTIA Cloud+ is not platform-specific, so these skills can be used in any environment. The prerequisites for this certification are 5 years in IT, with at least 3 years in IT security. Though if you have your CISSP you can use this certification in place of the experience. To prepare for this course:

I hope this write-up helps you understand some of the certifications in the industry. Cloud while some may think of another BUZZ word, is growing in popularity and the salaries are following the trend. Don’t let your career get left behind and let’s add a certification or two to your resume.

Happy Learning.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *